What’s in a Name?

It recently dawned on me that I have several names and those names are reflective on what I am doing at the particular moment. For instance – when it’s time for me to eat, I hear  “Sammy Boy, check your bowl”.  When I am basking in the sun on the rug and the vacuum comes out, I may hear “Move it Sam Boney”. When playing with the Boy, he sometimes calls me “big gorilla”.  Now, I don’t know what a big gorilla is but I am sure it is as sweet and loveable as I am.  And every so often, maybe when I am licking the plates in the dishwasher or nosing through the trash, I hear “Hey dummy –cut it out”.  I’m never bothered by that name though because who was the dummy that left the lid off the trashcan anyway?

One thought on “What’s in a Name?

Leave a Reply

