Other Mothers

Mother’s Day is drawing near and, although I been away from my own mom since I was a pup, I am fortunate to be surrounded by a bunch of wonderful “other” mothers.

First, is my adopted mom, a.k.a. “the Girl”, who is always there to scratch my head, kiss my wet nose and tell me that I need a bath – even when I think I smell just fine! Next is Grammy, my adopted grandmother, who is constantly sneaking me tasty treats that I shouldn’t have. I love her for this (but sometimes my tummy does not). Then there’s my little mama, Hylah, who is 8. She comes and takes great care of me if my family is away for the day. We go on adventurous hikes through the neighborhood and are always meeting new friends. And, I am even lucky enough to have a fairy Godmother! She plucked me from the shelter where I was all wilted and sick and got me well again. Then with a wave of her wand (or move of her mouse), she found me the family of my dreams. To her, I am forever thankful.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that you don’t need to have a kid to be someone’s mother. Mothers come in all shapes and sizes. They can be old. They can be young. They can be the same age as you! What they give is love to the ones they care about…even us furry ones.

So to all of the mothers…and “other” mothers out there, wishes for a wonderful Mother’s Day!

One thought on “Other Mothers

  1. As an “other” mother of adoptees/rescues/fosters I loved this! I’m sure MY “kids” view me, my family and friends in the same way and I wouldn’t have it any other way! Muah to all the furbabies and their adoring moms out there! Thank you for the wonderful wishes! ♥

Leave a Reply

