Winter Solstice Thoughts

Today is the shortest day of the year. It’s the winter solstice. The day when the sun peeks out for a few short hours before day turns to night once again. It’s a day to be cozy and warm inside curled on my bed, in front of a fire, with thoughts of chasing some Sugar Plum Fairies.  But, today, I am also thinking how lucky I am to have a bed, heat and a home. I was adopted in January and I dreamed of having a home like this for the holidays…and my wish came true.

I’ve heard from our dear friend (and hero), Ms. Evelyn, who fosters pups for Castle of Dreams, – a rescue for abandoned dogs, that this year has been harder than most. With the economy, there are more homeless dogs on the streets than ever before and less money given to charities to help support our furry friends in need.

I have learned it’s not what you get but what you give that makes this season special (I gave the girl a paw full of snow in face yesterday which I know she loved).  Here are some great organizations that my family makes donations towards. I thought I would share them with you in case your looking to give a little to our furry friends this holiday season.

Castle of Dreams (CODAR): is an all breed canine only animal rescue group that was incorporated in June of 2003. Located in NJ.                http://www.castle-of-dreams.com/

Humane Society of The United States: A national organization that protects and saves all creatures great and small.                                             http://www.humanesociety.org/

The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA): The ASPCA works to rescue animals from abuse, pass humane laws and share resources with shelters nationwide.  http://www.aspca.org/

Warmest Holiday Wishes!

Licks and wags –

Sam

One thought on “Winter Solstice Thoughts

  1. Animal Lovers,

    I ask all the animal lovers around the area to join our animal rescue forums. Our message board are/is dedicated to discussing everything pet related, but our major emphasis is pet rescue.

    Anyway, thanks for the blog post, it was a good read 🙂

Leave a Reply

