We salute you

Today is Pearl Harbor Day 2009. We remember and salute all those past and present who serve and protect our beautiful country. My salty sailor friend Fluke wrote the following poem about his travels and our beautiful country.

Anchors Aweigh

I’ve roamed the world aboard a ship

from sea to shining sea,

was born and bred a Salty Dog,

that’s been the life for me.

But now I’m searching for a place

to lay my anchor down.

Anchors aweigh…

Anchors aweigh…

I’ve been to the Hawaiian isles

and learned to hula dance.

I’ve gone up the Eiffel Tower.

and fell in love in France.

I’ve witnessed the bright northern lights.

Out ran a polar bear.

I’ve summited Mt Everest

and panted in thin air.

I’ve journeyed through the Amazon.

I’ve traveled down the Nile.

I spent some quiet time alone

on a deserted isle.

But still I’m searching for a place

to lay my anchor down.

Anchors aweigh…

Anchors aweigh…

At last a port that’s promising-

It’s Lady Liberty!

I may be crazy, but it seems

she’s smiling down at me.

Alas! I’ve finally found the place

to lay my anchor down.

Anchor to stay.

Anchor to stay.

Copyright 2009, Amy DeRome Schmidt   All Rights reserved

One thought on “We salute you

  1. I love this photo of Fluke. It’s on the calendar this month, next to my computer. I’d like to know if Fluke is actually tatoo’d! That seems a bit mean, to me. Must have been hard to make him stand still for it. Please tell me it is a temporary tatoo or photo magic!

Leave a Reply

