Blessing of the Animals

I recently was part of a celebration in honor of the Patron Saint of Animals, Saint Francis of Assisi. All kinds of animals were there in church together – dogs, cats, birds, and even a pet rat named Odette! For a brief period of time, there was no barking, clawing or chasing. We were all together in peace (for a few minutes at least).

When it was my turn to be blessed, the pastor gave special thanks for me and prayed that I live a long, happy, healthy life. In his hand was a bowl of water. No one told me that it was blessing kind and not the drinking kind, so count me as blessed both inside and out!

Saint Francis of Assisi

Saint Francis of Assisi

Leave a Reply

