Surf’s Up!

This summer, I’ve been introduced to a new and exciting sport – surfing! Now don’t be silly. I don’t surf! As you know from a recent post, I can’t swim. However, I do love hanging out under the umbrella, SPF 30 on my nose, and toes curled in the sand watching the boy surf.

The waves here on the Jersey Shore are amazing and one day I’d really like to try if I can get up the nerve. But first, I must make friends with the water.

The other day, when heading back to our car, we came upon this dude in dunes. Not only is he a surfer, but a poet, and here is his tribute to the waves…
woody.ronschmidt
Surfing
by Woody
With surfboard in tow, I sniff out the spot
Where the waves whirl and twirl and curl.
Down long winding paths I slowly trot
With surfboard in tow, I sniff out the spot.
The path opens wide to the beach I have sought.
The sand leads to sea where big wave unfurl,
With surfboard in tow, I sniff out the spot
Where the waves whirl and twirl and curl.

From the book Loose Leashes, By Amy & Ron Schmidt, Published by Random House, ©2009  – available on-line and at all major bookstores.
Leave a Reply

